Make Positive Messaging One of Your New Year’s Resolutions

 

Now let me ask you – which of these would compel you to open an email?

 

(these are real email message subject lines, received since the start of 2009)

 

#1)       5 Resolutions You’ll Love to Keep

#2)       A Grim 2008 in Real Estate

Or

#3)       Continuing Jobless Claims hit 26 year peak

 

My pick was #1.  Since I’ve already heard all the grim I can stand, I’m going with the positive message in #1.  Does it help to tell you who sent these?

 

#1 is from Saks Fifth Avenue

#2 is from Inman News, a superb real estate new source

And #3 is from our local Business Journal’s daily headlines

 

Now as a journalism graduate myself, I believe news is news and as my reporter friends might say “no sugar coating”.  But really is email suppose to fall in the news category?

 

So let me give you some tips I’ve gathered over the years about how to get your email read:

 

Tip #2 – Before they even open your e-mail – focus on the subject line

The most read email have the best subject lines –

Less than 20 characters long, with a number – research shows these are most opened! Example:  10 ways to become rich

 

Let’s all remember that bad news is everywhere and if we want to be noticed in 2009, and beyond, our best approach is to be positive.  With transparency, authenticity and integrity being important elements, add a little positive zest and see what transpires!

 

Tomorrow I’ll offer more observations on headlines and how they are impacting our economy, stay tuned.

2 thoughts on “Make Positive Messaging One of Your New Year’s Resolutions

  1. Wrenda Goodwyn says:

    Hi Laura,

    LOVE your blog…just as I expected, it is filled with “how to get out there and do something” at a time when all of the news is grim, grim, grim. Thanks for letting me know about it!

    Happy New Year.

    Wrenda

  2. Jennifer Kupper says:

    I must admit, I am slow on the uptake and have yet to find blogs engaging or of value. Perhaps your site resonates with me because we have a shared point of view or because I entered your blog knowing and respecting “the voice.” Be that as it may, you have just given me the little push I needed to enter the vast wasteland of cyberspace; and to my chagrin, I want more! Great work, Laura.

    Jennifer

Leave a Reply

