2013 the year of the Powerhouse, the Powerful and Marketing as a Necessity!

Standard

The economy has put us all through a whole new set of dynamics the last couple of years. Many companies have regrouped and we are now living in a forward-thinking world where most organizations (in the US and around the globe) of all sizes have cleared out the cobwebs, planned for growth and had time to take a look at what worked and what will be needed going forward.

The absolute best part of all this is that marketing has come out as one of the indispensable parts of business. Marketing budgets are becoming non-negotiable but include a far broader range of tasks and responsibilities too. The very definition of marketing has expanded, morphed and merged and whatever it takes to communicate online, offline, one to one, one to many and so many stops in-between, are all us!

As we look to 2013 marketers must be positioned to fulfill the role of the engine that does! Think powerful, full of steam and moving forward, faster and faster …. You are that powerhouse and loaded for the trip. Without marketing this train won’t pull out of the station. All aboard!

Today my daily tasks and those of my team range from content creation to long term planning, short term strategies and right-this-minute needs. And that was just yesterday! Most marketers have to-do lists that look similar and most of us have less team members to share the load with. In some ways that has made us sharper and like others in management positions forced us to look at priorities and filter out what was filler and what was functioning. Personally I enjoy this process and knowing that though my days are packed, in the end I will have made a bigger difference and using the train analogy, will have moved my clients farther along the track to where they want to go.

As we head into yet another new year, I enter it with enthusiasm and a sense of purpose knowing that marketing skills make the difference, now even more than ever.

Here’s to a magnificent 2013 that brings growth and satisfaction to you and yours!

See the light at the end of the tunnel – be not afraid!

About bennettaboutmarketing

I count more than 30 addresses before I was 25 years old and each one brought new experiences that make a difference today. My father was with NASA and we moved as the need for spacecraft testing changed. Later I made my own move choices and have lived in all 4 quadrants of the USA. As President of Bennett & Company Marketing, a firm I founded 30 years ago, I can tell you that understanding different cultures and ways of life have made a big difference in my career. I have loved every minute and tell others this is the best career choice ever. In early 2008 I married my high school sweetheart, a former University of Florida athlete. We have two dogs, season tickets to the UF Gator games and a ton of family and friends nearby. After a childhood of moving we are certain to stay here, travel much and be part of the Gator Nation.

Leave a Reply

